Redneck Weddings gets on BTS Radio Show with Brian Shirley Wednesday Oct 23rd! And the Singing Greats That Influenced Me!

I like listening to standard music the “old music” as some people would say. But to me it is always in fashion.

Frank or Sammy Davis Jr the (Rat Pack) they were cool they sang the best music in the world. Today, in a very judgmental world I like to give my soul some positive vibe by listening to those old standards of yesterday. For example the song “The Candy Man” from Sammy Davis Jr. it is such a happy carefree song that you can’t help singing along.

Sammy Davis Jr. Candy Man! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8iIraEbr6NE
What Kind of Fool I Am! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Jg7wFHWXT4
Rat Pack with Johnny Carson http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g9U_iDR7ORU

I was introduced to the standard’s from my Mom whose was a singer and my godmother/Aunt Mary way back. Both ladies were opinionated and my godmother was about five foot tall but she could command a room and put all of her family in place with a look! I would go to her house and there was the great music playing on those old records remember those old record player that you don’t see anymore.

With a bottle of homemade wine, some pasta ( I got a little nip of the wine) she was in heaven sitting there thinking about her life as the music played. I think on my dad’s side I got my acting influence they were all good characters. Along with the acting I did not have a choice but sing too which was on my Mother side.

My mom was an opera singer and later became a Jazz singer. She had a trunk of old sheet music that she collected I have some of it. I used to bring in some old sheet music to my singing teachers and they would examine it and say where the hell did you get this!!!! Yes I can sing it runs in the family. My mom could sing, my mom’ mother Harriet could sing, my grandfather could play about six instruments, sung and wrote little songs, my aunts could all sing too. If anyone is jewish out there we are very musically inclined as a people and but also being part italian we can blow out a room too!!

When I was a little girl my Mom took me to see Sammy Davis Jr. perform. Till this day, I still remember him working that stage I was in awe of him as a performer especially when he sang “What Kind of Fool Am I” too young to know the meaning of the song but I felt his pain his passion and I could relate to it somehow and felt as if I was the one he was singing to.

When I was a little girl my Mom would have me sing little songs and she would encourage me to sing like her she would instruct me about performing and showed me how to use my hands and interpretation on how to sell the song. She was a mezzo – soprano and so am I. Most recently, I was singing some old songs. I have a tape from a singing teacher who was one of the best. Earl Wentz was known in New York he performed lot at cabaret clubs and he just knew what songs were the best for you. Because I have a big voice of course Liza, Judy and Lena was always in the selection. He died a couple of years ago and when I have the tape on now I always look up to the sky and say this one is for you Earl.

When I sing it brings me back to my childhood and that little nip of homemade wine and pasta and so many memories of my family and past teachers that really has shape me as an artist. Singing is an expression a release of energy that comes from your soul and my destiny was already in the stars even as a young kid.

I just thought that I would share this with you.

Redneck Weddings continues to be pitched and I am on another radio show. On Wednesday Oct 23rd with comedian Brian Shirley BTS Radio. I will be on at 5:15 east coast and 2:15 West Coast. Brian is a great comedian saw my pilot and loved it. We are going to be talking about comedy, my show and I guess about entertainment. So tune in.

here is a link: http://www.kinetichifi.com/bts/

Article was written about my show Redneck Weddings. The music Video that we did.

http://maxitmagazine.com/index.php/articles/news/751-rob-valle-writes-song-for-redneck-weddings

So, I hope I brought you back to a simple time, remembering the greats and what it is like to be a performer!

Thank you fans!

Leave a Reply

