The Trailer of Redneck Weddings! The Creative Process!

When I was a little kid anything that seemed really hard I would  tackle first  instead of taking the easier route.  On tests, I would go to the hardest questions first and get it over with and then get to the easy questions.   I know it seems butt backwards but that is me.    I knew the show could be better and I am a perfectionist.   My director Michael  is really a perfectionist which is good because it keeps me in check.  I will let things slide a little.  Life is not perfect.

So the trailer is what we would work on.   Harder because you have to tell a story in less than three minutes.  We all decided  that the trailer would go on Kickstarter.

I knew Breesy scenes would be the first to start the trailer, but I was stuck because Breesy was supposed to be in Texas not near the Chapel in Arkansas.  Part of the problem was that our location changing the last-minute filming the Chapel scenes.

We had filmed some scenes of just me talking into the camera. I looked real cute with the mailboxes beside me but in the distance you could kind of see that the chapel was in the back. It bothered me.  Maybe someone else would not have picked it up but I did.  They were transitional scenes  with lines like “let’s get back to Arkansas where I have a new life!”  I guess the state lines were pretty close. LOL.   It slowed it down too.  So, Peter (editor) and I clip, cut whatever you want to call it.  But what to do?   How do it start this?   Peter said lets just continue.  Next scene.

The death scenes, the lines I had after each guy died were funny but it slowed it down.  Here are some I guess he had to many cheeseburgers (into camera).   Beau gets hit by the car I run over pick up his head ” we had to get a big O casket for Beau” or another one was with Billie boy lying dead shot with the ring on my finger to camera “What good is a ring without a man?

In the first version the long one we had very dramatic music on that line.  Very over the top.   That was all cut from the trailer.  Sliced.  All you see is a few lines with the guys my reactions and that is it.  Editors are like that does it move the story if not it has to go.   We went on we had a scene were I just arrived at the chapel which was great so we started with that after the death scenes.  We just cut in mid scene (chapel).   Next scene, the Preacher and we started introducing each character.  Rough, but we started playing with each moment cutting and then going back to another character very quick cuts but each cut gave more background on the character.  The initial script was not followed as the long version.  After a week we started with the music.  Peter had some good tunes and put them in place.  We started to get the pace of the show.  Grab moments of the Actors just reactions and then go back and forth.  It became so much funnier than before!

The sound effects were put in to that is great for layering.  With a rough cut we had about 4 minutes way too long.  So we went back cut some more.  Grab moments from the first edit and cut other moments out that I did not want to but …..that is how it goes.   We got it down to a little over two minutes.   But we still had to figure out the beginning.  We went back and took a scene of the wedding at the chapel catching the bouquet but no idea where I was but  a voice over that was not good I sounded like I was on LSD.  No joke.

The voice overs were recorded after everyone went home on the day of filming at the chapel.  God I sounded tried.    So we cut something with the chapel and then we got the map of Texas and Arkansas and started playing with that.

My voice over was done with an image of Arkansas at the time the town was Mayberry and a little sound effect came up with a pop of the town Mayberry on the map.  Let’s get Back to Mayberry where I have a New Life!   Now the town is Cutler and I will get to why I changed it at a later blog.

So, those lines did not work.  A few days later I was going through the photos of the day of filming and there was a picture taken of me.    I look country and rustic.

Catherine Natale as Breesy Carson Photo Credit Alexsan Gharibian

So, why not have the still in the beginning I could be like a wanted person in Texas for being the “Kiss of Death“.  And that is how we solved that one.  Sometimes you have to think outside the box.   A pop up of big red letters ” Cursed” comes up I am at the chapel by that time.  We had to re-record my voiceover but it seem like it got to the point.

That is the breakthrough.  Weeks of turning to figure it out.  But through the trailer I got the vibe of the show.    Stingers all shows have it.

Wedding Drops Chapel.

They are like transitions with music. Seinfield had the popping noise, Big Bang has the planets that is what all shows do.  Branding it.  So why not Redneck Weddings.  So my sign, that I made put in with a great stinger music and presto it worked.  We have it as a still on the dirt ground of my background with some sexy music.   So, all of this adds to the show.    I found the show, the vibe and the show was growing.  The rooster in the end of the trailer came  as a last thought.  In the pilot script there is a chicken coop scene with Jack and Breesy.  So,  I drew a rooster and put the sound effect in the end.

The rooster in the end with Redneck Weddings title. Design by Catherine Natale

Remember when I mentioned that scene that Breesy walks up to the chapel and says ” Is this the Chapel for Ever-Lasting Love? ”  The beginning scene we would  start with that and just cut to the end.    Sort of a cliffhanger.    Michael saw the rough cut and raved about it.   We can fix this or that he said  but it really is the show.  Peter who is particular loved it too.    I thought it was finally going in the right direction.

Next the edit of ” Meet the Characters”.  How I got the idea to combine all of it.  The on camera character interviews, confessionals and scenes all at once.

I thought that since the trailer is on the Kickstarter only if you want to see it the finish version have a look.

http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/redneckweddingstv/redneck-weddings

Also in a past blog I talked about Kickstarter so have a look at what I did.   Feel free to comment on top of Kickstarter.  I like hearing some feedback.

website:  redneckweddingstv.com

Leave a Reply

