Redneck Weddings! Do I Comprise and Take the Easy Way Out or Keep My Vision?

As Peter and I sat in our small room in our apartment we stood at the computer monitor watching each take of Redneck Weddings.  What are we editing first?   As we watched, each scene we would put them in order and put the script to the side.  Move this here that here…the one take that we would like to use did not always match the other take.  Continuity is important remember the film Citizen Kane that I mentioned in the last post.   Let me just say that editing is very expensive.  I was very lucky to have my husband Peter who can do it. It would run around $50.00 to $100.00 an hour.  The edit would last from June to early August. That is a lot of hours.

We set out a direction to go.

The plan was to edit the long presentation for pitching and then the trailer. That is easier.  A trailer on a whole is about three minutes long and you have to tell the story in that short time. A beginning and an end in a few minutes.  A lot harder to do!    Michael went off to another project and wanted to see a rough cut when it was done.  Some directors want to be there for each session and some do not ….only the rough cut.

So, it was just Peter and I.  Everyone else went their way.   You know that song by Aerosmith “Living on the Edge”    and there is a sound effect in the song like an echo of the end of the world!  Exactly!

Peter is very opinionated and direct!    As a married couple, for the past 17 years we have gotten into fights or artistic disagreements to put it politely.   This was no exception.    We are both artists and have very different ways of working.   But once we commit our aim is always about the project so after the yelling…. we would  sit down and start again.    As we watched each take I  could see some mistakes but nevertheless the footage looked great.

So, we started cutting.

Catherine do you want the scene?  Peter would say.  This one?  I would say ” Peter what do you think”?  Catherine it is your project!  But if I were you, I would pick this scene.   Peter would say.   OK I said.  That is what we will do.  I try to learn from people.  Way back I worked on a film as an actress here goes:

I knew someone who shot a feature with a partner of his they wrote a feature together.   I won’t mention the film but he allowed his partner to take over and the film became something that he had not had in mind as a writer of the feature or even as a director.

I was  comprising because it is really hard and the easy way out.    Finally with a lot of frustration I just picked up the script and went by each scene and the shot list.   We finally got a rough edit.  But deep down I knew it was not what I wanted nor did it have any resemblance of what kind of show I had in mind!

I still was not able to convey at that time what I wanted.  So we kept cutting.

We go it down to 13 minutes long remember we had three hours of footage.  A presentation should be up to ten minutes long.  The powers that be don’t have time.   I showed it to Michael.  Well it is getting there.  He said.  Everyone knew that we would have to go back and start from scratch.  After two weeks of working at it every night.   I finally gave up!

I just said OK let’s forget about the pitch and do the trailer.   So that long version was put to the side and we started doing the trailer.  We did not erase it.  We just kept it as a reference or perhaps go back to it to get quick moments.

Peter Papagerogiou at Work.

As we started the trailer, I could see this show needed a lot of music.  Michael suggested going on Audiojungle .com that is a really good site for  music and if you pay you can get the rights to it.  Musicians put their music on that site and if you have a show like mine and no money for music rights it can come in handy.    But Peter who loves music! He  had his own source garage band program.  That program once you buy it you own the rights has sample music and you can also make your own tunes.   So, that is what we did.    Music is so important it helps the story come alive.

I still was confused as how to start the trailer.  I have never done this before.  Always make sure you film a lot of B-Roll because it can make or break your project.

Unfortunately,  the character ” Breesy”  did not have a whole lot of B-Roll.     Yikes!    I am the main character.

But that is what happens when there is no budget!

WE GET A BREAK THOUGH.  NEXT.

On a side note.

We are about to launch our Kickstarter campaign on Oct 1st so on Oct 2nd go to redneckweddingstv.com/ click on “Our Launch” on the home page.  There you will see the trailer that I wrote about on this blog today.

I will also be on ActorsE-Chat on Tuesday Oct 2nd and  Peter my husband will be on the show talking about his project ” Late Bloomers” along with Redneck Weddings.  It is filmed live west coast time at around 10 AM in the morning and will later be available to watch and listen to on their website.   So, if you have any questions or comments please feel free to write in during the show.  Below is a link to the press release at the bottom  of the press release you will see the  instructions on how to write into the show live.

All very exciting!  Wish me luck.

Catherine

The link to ActorsE-Chat.

http://actorsentertainment.com/category/actorse/

http://www.free-press-release.com/news-redneck-weddings-a-new-quirky-scripted-comedy-on-actors-e-chat-oct-2nd-1346973926.html

One comment

Leave a Reply

